liquid ingredients —— part 2

Hey you guys I am back with continuing my last post which was on liquid ingredients and this time we would talk about the left over ingredients which is eggs,butter,sugar and extracts etc.but first let me tell you that I have had the most brilliant week in ages.

I am sure most of you have heard of the brand Kitchen aid and its beautiful creation called the tilt head/bowl lift stand mixer.So i had been dying like seriously to buy one for ages and was saving in for that until we reached the figure and i went ahead & bought the new love of my life(I am sue my husband understand or so i feel*wink).The pictures will follow shortly to give you the glimpse of the beauty that now sits on my kitchen counter…..

oh! in my excitement i completely forgot the rest of the ingredients so without further ado……………here we go………

Eggs

waffles-2190961_1920.jpg

Eggs…they help to stick our baked goods together acting as the binding agent in them.They also provide enhanced texture and moisture to our products where you final product is not dense and hard.

Now we can divide our egg…i am sure most of you know that the yellow which is the yolk is the fat and white is the one that provides that fluffiness and sponginess to the cakes. Since the yolk is he fat in the egg it adds texture and great flavor to the recipes.It is usually difficult to substitute the eggs in a recipe however i would not say impossible.

There are a lot of ingredients that one can use to substitute egg in a recipe like mashed bananas,apple sauce,egg replacing powder,flax seeds,chia seeds and the list is endless.So next time you wish to replace the eggs in your recipe try and substitute it with one of these but let me tell you its going to take a lot of hell raising experiments to get the final product to get it as close to the one that uses eggs…Saying that I still love my egg less recipes and it has taken me over the years a lot of experiment and hair pulling to have the texture to die for.

There is a huge variety of eggs to choose from the market today like brown,white ,pasteurized,organic eggs and also the ones that you would find at your local stores.

Butter

bake-599521_1920

butter

Butter is a dairy product made from mostly cows milk but can also be obtained from goat,sheep,yaks,buffalo milk as well. IT has about 80% fat content  and is hard at cool temperatures and liquid at room temperature.

Because butter works in concert with other ingredients such as flour,eggs,sugar which gives texture and body to baked goods it is important to get some air fluffed inside the butter that is why most cookies require creaming butter and then sugar together.Butter is usually a success in baked goods due to its fat content and crystalline structure.

It is important to control the salt content in you baked goods so pair this with the added salt in your recipe and you’ll wind up with super salty pound cake. Salt is a preservative and therefore,salted butter stays and has a longer shelf like than unsalted butter,however they both do the same job as per me and for me…..

Sugar and extracts

Liquid sugars can be used for various reasons in a recipe,for example we add boiled sugar and water mixture to whipped egg whites in case of Swiss meringue buttercream o use it as a simple syrup to keep your cakes nice and moist. Liquid sugars like con syrup  is a food syrup made from the starch of corn, and is used in foods to soften texture, add volume, prevent crystallization of sugar, and enhance flavor,a good substitute for it in some countries is golden syrup.Liquid syrups such a molasses.maple syrup etc also help to retain moisture in baked goods,add texture and give you a flavorful baked end product.

Extracts can also be used to flavor your baked goods and make them smell & taste heavenly. My favorite one is my homemade vanilla paste and extract for using in my baked goods,it not only gives my cakes and cookies a lift in their taste but also i know its homemade(which is a good thing right??)

So here i end my final part on liquid ingredients and like I always say please do let me know if there is anything you want me to write or talk about or any information that you have that can help this blog make it better I am always happy to be there.Lots of hugs and kisses to all of you out there and see you real soooon…..

xoxoxo

 

 

© kissmybowl All images & content are copyright protected. Please do not use my images without prior permission. If you want to republish this recipe, please re-write the recipe in your own words, or link back to this post for the recipe.

Leave a Reply

